## Loudoun County, Virginia

1 Harrison Street, S.E., P.O. Box 7000



## HISTORIC DISTRICT REVIEW COMMITTEE

Leesburg, Virginia 20177-7000 Telephone (703) 777-0246 • Fax (703) 777-0441 • E-mail: dpz@loudoun.gov

December 12, 2023,

Phyllis J. Randall, Chair Loudoun County Board of Supervisors 1 Harrison St., S.E. P.O. Box 7000 Leesburg, VA 20177-7000

Dear Chair Randall and Members of the Board of Supervisors,

On behalf of the HDRC, I write to you with concerns about the power transmission lines proposed by PJM in order to support the needs of the growing data center industry. The current proposal places the power transmission through the historic Phillips Farm located in the Waterford Historic District. The Waterford Historic District has, since the 1970's, been listed on the Virginia Landmarks Register, the National Register of Historic Places, and is designated as a National Historic Landmark – the highest designation possible in the United States.

The Waterford Historic District is one of six National Historic Landmarks located in Loudoun County. Power lines that are approximately 300 feet tall are detrimental to the agrarian landscape and will diminish the character of the historic village. Many properties within the historic village are held in conservation easement for the purpose of protecting the land and integrity of this historic Quaker village that has been preserved for centuries. The local preservation community has expressed these concerns to the PJM Board of Managers and urges PJM to seek an alternate route for the transmission lines.

We urge the Board of Supervisors to strongly consider the impacts of the data center industry on the County's protected open spaces and take action through zoning ordinance amendments to prevent threats to the historic landscape and viewshed of Western Loudoun. We must have the foresight to protect our irreplaceable heritage and rural lands.

Sincerely,

Karl Riedel, Chairman

Loudoun County Historic District Review Committee

Cc: Loudoun County Board of Supervisors

Tim Hemstreet, County Administration
Erin McLellan, County Administration
Joe Kroboth, County Administration
Daniel Galindo, Department of Planning and Zoning
Jacqueline Marsh, Department of Planning and Zoning
Theresa Stein, Department of Planning and Zoning
Loudoun County Heritage Commission
Madeline Skinner, Loudoun Historic Village Alliance
Stephanie Thompson, Waterford Foundation
Aubrey Von Lindern, Virginia Department of Historic Resources
Virginia State Corporation Commission